The Conservative Party Banned Me From Their Facebook Page.

A few days ago Canada’s Conservative Party posted a link on their Facebook page touting their “strong international leadership.”

Screen Shot 2015-01-22 at 11.46.21 AM

Curious, considering (among other things) Canada’s environmental reputation and discriminatory immigration policies for people with disabilities. I decided to post a reply, choosing this article on the United Nations’ pressuring of the Conservative Government to hold a national inquiry regarding Canada’s 1200+ missing and murdered Indigineous women, a matter Prime Minister Harper has publicly deemed “Not on our radar.”

I wonder if that has anything to do with the fact that when white women go missing or are murdered in Canada, they will receive six times more local media coverage than if they were First Nations.

The result? My comment was deleted and I am no longer able to reply to any posts or comments on the Conservative Party’s Facebook page. I’ve checked the pages of the Liberals, NDP, & Greens and I can post there. Look at the above screencap, taken today, and then this one, taken when the “comment” option was still available to me:

We're sending sex workers to re-education camps, but on the other hand Hockey!

(We’re sending sex workers to religious re-education camps, but on the other hand Hockey!)

When I ranted about being censored on Facebook a friend suggested I write an e-mail or a letter with my concerns. This is cold comfort considering that A) It would be used as kindling and B) It wouldn’t be available to the 100,000+ people who ‘like’ the Conservatives on Facebook and who, presumably, vote. That’s kinda who I was going for.

Sure it’s “just” social media, but it’s also the most public and direct way to engage my government, which has now censored my ability to speak – directly to the issue at hand and in a space where other voters are. It’s the kind of behaviour that leaves me wondering whether electoral fraud is really above these people (PSA: it isn’t).

Here is what the discourse on the Conservatives’ Facebook page looks like now, sans dissenting opinions. Positive, pure. Notice no “reply” option in my screencaps:

Screen Shot 2015-01-22 at 10.32.23 AM Screen Shot 2015-01-22 at 10.33.52 AM

(To recap, racist asshats saying “Close all Mosques”: Fine. Providing evidence that disproves the post in question: Banned.)

Hide me from your timeline, ignore my trolly troll comments, block me on Twitter, all that is fine. We’re so into freedom of speech that we forget people should also have freedom *from* speech it when it is gaslighting, derailing & bigoted. This, though, feels kinda super not okay.

But hey what do I know about life, I’ve voted Green twice.

One thought on “The Conservative Party Banned Me From Their Facebook Page.

  1. Pingback: 10 Ways to Defeat Stephen Harper in 2015. (1-5) | Radicus Rants

Say something nice.

